There are three categories of Georges Borel awards : Governmental, European and Global Award.

These awards recognize professionals who are at the forefront of the development, use and dissemination of quality at governmental, European or global level. They have not only made an excellent contribution to the realization of the EOQ mission, but have also had a global impact in the field of quality.

Candidates for the Georges Borel awards may be nominated by EOQ National Representatives and/or by the EOQ Secretary General. A nominated Jury evaluates the proposed candidates against defined criteria and the EOQ Executive Board decides the award winners from a short-list of candidates proposed by the Jury. The Georges Borel Award ceremony is organized on the occasion of the annual congress and a press release is published on the EOQ website.